Data Centre Development in Hong Kong
Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
Data Centre Development in Hong Kong
  
Water Supply for Cooling for Data Centres
Water Supply for Cooling for Data Centres

Application Procedures

High-tier data centres may consider adopting water-cooled air-conditioning system, which is more energy efficient then air-cooled system, for data centre cooling purposes. In Hong Kong, the authority of approval for fresh water supply for cooling purpose for non-domestic buildings within designated areas under the Government's voluntary Fresh Water Cooling Towers (FWCT) Scheme for Air Conditioning Systems (the Scheme) administered by the Electrical and Mechanical Services Department (EMSD) falls under the Water Supplies Department (WSD). For data centre projects using fresh water cooling towers for water-cooled air conditioning systems, project developers should apply for participation in the Scheme to ensure the cooling towers meet the environmental and public health requirements. Besides, the participation will also facilitate WSD's consideration of approval for fresh water supply to the cooling towers.

The Scheme was launched by an inter-departmental working group, comprising EMSD, WSD, Buildings Department (BD) and various government departments. Specifically, EMSD, WSD and BD would provide relevant approvals of (i) cooling tower design and installation (in environmental and public health aspects), (ii) fresh water supply & plumbing works, and (iii) building works respectively. The Scheme applies to all non-domestic new and existing buildings within the designated areas (see Scheme Location Plans of Designated Areas ). Applications for buildings not within the designated areas will be considered on a case-by-case basis. Apart from the approvals from EMSD, WSD and BD, cooling towers should also comply with other relevant statutory requirements1.

To facilitate application for joining the Scheme, EMSD has promulgated a thematic website, which contains details of the Scheme including a Scheme Brochure, an Application Process Chart, and the Code of Practice for Water-cooled Air- conditioning Systems (in 3 parts) for the design, installation, testing, commissioning, operation and maintenance of cooling towers, and other relevant references. There are also Guidance Notes (Guidance Notes on Code of Practice for Water-cooled Air Conditioning Systems) which facilitate satisfying the design requirements of the aforesaid code of practice.

  1. Other statutory requirements involve areas of sewage services; water pollution, air pollution and noise control; nuisance control; and occupational safety and health, with which the installation and operation of cooling towers should also comply. Applicants should seek relevant professional advice from Authorised Persons, Registered Professional Engineers of building services and mechanical engineering disciplines, Licensed Plumbers and other competent professionals.

Project planning

As experience shared by industry, developers in contemplating a data centre project involving installation of fresh water cooling towers should note the following areas that will facilitate smooth proceeding of application and approval process with relevant departments:

For more information on the Scheme, please refer to the EMSD website or make enquiry to EMSD via info@emsd.gov.hk.

政府資訊科技總監辦公室
Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
在香港發展數據中心
  
數據中心冷卻用水供應
數據中心冷卻用水供應

申請程序

高端數據中心可以考慮採用比氣冷式系統更具能源效益的水冷式空調系統,作數據中心冷卻之用。在香港,政府推出了屬自願參與性質的「空調系統使用淡水冷卻塔計劃」(淡水冷卻塔計劃),由機電工程署負責執行,而水務署則負責審批為選定地區內非住宅建築物供應淡水作冷卻用途的申請。數據中心項目若使用水冷式空調系統的淡水冷卻塔,項目發展商應申請參加該計劃,以確保冷卻塔能合乎環保及公共衞生的要求。另外,項目發展商參與該計劃後,可方便水務署審批其冷卻塔淡水供應的申請。

淡水冷卻塔計劃是由機電工程署、水務署、屋宇署及其他部門組成的跨部門工作小組所推出。具體而言,機電工程署、水務署及屋宇署會分別審批(一)冷卻塔的設計及安裝是否符合環保和公共衞生的要求;(二)淡水供應和喉管工程的申請;以及(三)建築工程的申請。該計劃適用於選定地區內所有新建及現有的非住宅建築物(請參閱計劃的選定地區位置圖)。對於不在選定地區內的樓宇的申請,有關部門會就個別情況作出考慮。除須獲得機電工程署、水務署和屋宇署的批准外,冷卻塔亦須符合其他相關的法定要求1

為方便申請參加淡水冷卻塔計劃,機電工程署推出了該計劃的專題網站,當中載有「計劃小冊子」、「申請流程圖﹝英文版本﹞」、有關冷卻塔設計、安裝、試驗、竣工投用、操作及維修的《水冷式空調系統實務守則》(三個部分),以及其他相關的參考資料。該網站還載有《水冷式空調系統實務守則的指引》,以助申請人符合上述實務守則所定的設計要求。

  1. 冷卻塔的安裝及操作亦須符合其他法定要求,所涉範疇包括:污水處理服務、水污染管制、空氣污染管制、噪音管制、滋擾管制,以及職業安全及健康。申請人須向認可人士、屋宇裝備或機械工程的註冊專業工程師、持牌水喉匠及其他合資格的專業人士尋求相關專業意見。

項目策劃

根據業界所分享的經驗,數據中心發展商在策劃涉及安裝淡水冷卻塔的項目時,應留意以下各點,以便有關部門順利處理和審批申請:

如需要更多有關計劃的資訊,請參考機電工程署為計劃開設的專題網站或透過 info@emsd.gov.hk 向機電工程署查詢。