Data Centre Development in Hong Kong
Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
Data Centre Development in Hong Kong
  
Accommodating Data Centres
Accommodating Data Centres

In Hong Kong, there are many ways to accommodate data centres, including:


Conversion from Existing Industrial Buildings

Many existing industrial buildings in Hong Kong, with high ceiling height, high floor loading and flexible floor layouts, can be converted into data centres. Depending on the amount of space needed, data centres can occupy part of or an entire industrial building.

In Hong Kong, large data centres tend to cluster around Tsuen Wan, Kwai Chung, Shatin, Kwun Tong, Kowloon Bay, San Po Kong, Chai Wan and Tseung Kwan O.

It should be noted that the lease governing the lot on which the industrial building stands contains restriction on the land use and other requirements. Any interested party who wishes to set up data centre in the industrial building should examine the lease to see if the data centre use is permissible under the lease. If the proposed use is not yet permitted, the owners may apply for a lease modification or a temporary waiver (waiver).

Waiver Scheme

The Lands Department has streamlined procedure for processing applications from owners of industrial premises for the issue of waivers, which facilitates the setting up of data centres in the premises. Any interested party may refer to the Lands Administration Office (LAO) Practice Notes (Nos. 3/2012, 3/2012A, 3/2012B and any other relevant Practice Notes on the subject) published by the Lands Department.


Greenfield Sites Available for Sale from Government

Potential sites available for developing data centres can be found on the "Land Sale" on the Lands Department's website. Any interested party may study these sites to see if any of them are suitable for data centre use under the conditions of sale for the site concerned and if the town planning zoning permits such use.

Under Hong Kong's town planning regime, land is zoned for different purposes under the statutory Outline Zoning Plans (OZPs). Data centres may operate in areas zoned as "Commercial", "Industrial", "Other Specified Uses" ("OU") annotated "Business" ("OU(B)")1, "OU" annotated "Industrial Estates" and "OU" annotated "Mixed Use"2 under an OZP. One of the permitted uses under the above listed zones is "Information Technology and Telecommunications Industries"(IT&T industries), which includes data centre use. For areas zoned as "Comprehensive Development Area" permission from the Town Planning Board is required for data centre use. For more details on OZP and zoning permissions related to data centre use under IT&T Industries, please see Frequently Asked Questions.


  1. Industrial buildings are an important source of supply for data centre premises. In Hong Kong, most industrial buildings fall within "Industrial" or "OU(B)" zone.
  2. Only applicable to data centre within non-residential building in the zone or non-residential portion of composite building in the zone.

Land Sale

The lists of sites available for disposal can be found on the "Land Sale Programme", "Tender Forecast" and "Tender Notices" posted on the website of the Lands Department under "Land Sale". The lists of sites contain information on location, user (land use zoning), site area and date of availability.

For the sites for sale by Government-initiated tender or auction, please refer to "Coming Land Sale" and "Tender Notices" under "Tender Information".


Sites in Commercial Buildings and the Open Market

Commercial buildings and land/premises in the open market are also possible locations for data centres. They can be rented or acquired through private commercial deals. Whether they can be converted to data centres is subject to land use restrictions. Interested parties may wish to seek professional advice as appropriate.

政府資訊科技總監辦公室
Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
在香港發展數據中心
  
設置新數據中心的選址
設置新數據中心的選址

在香港,設置數據中心的選址途徑有多種,包括:


改裝現有工業大廈

本港許多現有的工業大廈,樓底高、樓面負荷量大和樓層間隔具彈性,可改裝成為數據中心。視乎所需空間,數據中心可佔用部分或全幢工業大廈。

在香港,大型數據中心多匯聚於荃灣、葵涌、沙田、觀塘、九龍灣、新蒲崗、柴灣及將軍澳等地區。

工業大廈位處地段的土地契約上包含土地使用及其他方面的限制。有興趣在工業大廈設置數據中心的人士應查閱地契是否已准許作數據中心用途。若否,業主可申請修訂土地契約或臨時豁免書(下稱「豁免書」)。

豁免書措施

地政總署已簡化了供工業大廈業主申請「改變土地及建築物之用途豁免書」的程序,以促進數據中心設置在工業大廈。有興趣人士可參閱由地政總署發出的地政處作業備考(編號 3/3/2012, 3/2012A, 3/2012B 及其他相關作業備考)。


政府售賣未發展之土地

地政總署網頁中的賣地,載有可供發展數據中心的土地的資料。有興趣人士可查閱土地相關的賣地條款和法定規劃許可,是否符合數據中心的用途。

根據香港的土地規劃制度,土地會按法定「分區計劃大綱圖」(下稱「大綱圖」) 劃作不同用途。數據中心可設於大綱圖規劃作「商業」、「工業」、「其他指定用途(商貿)1、「其他指定用途(工業邨)」及「其他指定用途(混合用途)2用途的土地。上述規劃用途已准許有關土地作「資訊科技及電訊業(包括數據中心)」(請參閱英文版)之用。就劃為「綜合發展區」用途的土地而言,如擬用作設置數據中心,則須先向城市規劃委員會申請規劃許可。請參閱本網站常見問題,以了解更多有關「分區計劃大綱圖」及容許「資訊科技及電訊業」(數據中心)用途相關的土地規劃許可的資料。

  1. 工業大廈為數據中心場所重要的供應來源,在香港,很多工業大廈位於「工業」及「其他指定用途(商貿)」區內。
  2. 只適用於位於區內的非住宅建築物或一些建築物中的非住宅用途部份的數據中心。

政府賣地

地政總署網頁中的賣地計劃招標預報招標公告載有將會批出的土地。該列表包括地點、用途(規劃許可)、面積及可供出售日期。

政府會主動推出土地拍賣或招標,詳情請參閱地政總署即將出售土地招標公告的網頁。


商業大廈及公開市場上的用地

公開市場上的商業樓宇及其他土地/樓面,也可透過私人商業交易方式購入或租用,以設置數據中心。不過,該等用地能否改作數據中心用途,須視乎有關的土地用途限制。有興趣人士可徵詢適當的專業意見。