Data Centre Development in Hong Kong
Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
Data Centre Development in Hong Kong
  
Power Supply for Data Centres
Power Supply for Data Centres

Hong Kong has a highly robust and reliable world-class electricity power supply network, making it a location of choice for high-tier data centre operators.

There are two power suppliers, the CLP Power Hong Kong Limited and the Hongkong Electric Company Limited. Whilst both power companies operate independently, their electricity transmission networks are connected to support each other in case of emergency. Both utilities are vertically integrated companies with sound financial background.


The Power Companies

CLP Power Hong Kong Limited (CLP), was founded in 1901, supplies electricity to Kowloon and the New Territories, including Lantau, Cheung Chau and most outlying islands. CLP provides one of the most reliable electricity services in the world, achieving 99.995% supply reliability.

CLP is committed to playing a leading role in the development of renewable energy in Hong Kong by connecting the Government’s large-scale waste-to-energy projects along with other smaller-scale projects to CLP’s grid, while exploring other utility-scale renewable energy opportunities.

As Hong Kong transforms itself into a smart city, CLP will play their part by providing a greener, smarter, and highly reliable energy system, for example by acting as a coordinator for others, such as accelerating power supply service for data centre operations.

If you are thinking of setting up a data centre in a site in Hong Kong covered by CLP, please click here to learn more about CLP Power's supply system, network reliability, power supply availability or how CLP can help you in your data centre set up.


The Hongkong Electric Company, Limited (HK Electric), was founded in 1889. The Company is responsible for the generation, transmission and distribution of electricity to Hong Kong Island and Lamma Island. HK Electric has maintained a supply reliability rating of over 99.999% since 1997.

HK Electric has significantly increasing the proportion of green energy and will continue working closely with the Government towards achieving the carbon intensity reduction target and the electricity fuel mix revamp.

To help combat climate change, HK Electric is taking a proactive approach to reducing greenhouse gas emissions. HK Electric is also focused on adaptation to climate change to help bolster the resilience of Hong Kong in the face of more extreme weather conditions.

If you are thinking of setting up a data centre in a site in Hong Kong covered by HK Electric, please click here to learn more about HK Electric supply network, reliability of electricity supply and power quality.

Supreme Reliability

The reliability level of our electricity power supply is supreme. The two electricity companies are connected with enough capacity to provide emergency support to each other in the event of generator failure, and hence reducing potential loss of supply to customers.

To further strengthen Hong Kong’s fuel supplies, CLP and HK Electric are working together to develop an offshore liquefied natural gas (LNG) terminal, which will diversify Hong Kong’s natural gas supply sources.

In additition, Hong Kong enjoys a relatively low electricity tariff in comparision with other cities in the Asia Pacific Region.

Our power supply meets the Uptime Institute Data Centre Site Tier Standard and the Telecommunications Industry Association Telecommunications Infrastructure Standard for Data Centers (TIA-942). The requirement of dual power feeds can be fulfilled by having two power inputs from either different power companies or different substations of the same power company.

政府资讯科技总监办公室
Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
在香港发展数据中心
  
数据中心的电力供应
数据中心的电力供应

香港拥有极其稳健及可靠的世界级电力供应网络,使本港得以成为高端数据中心的优良选址。

香港共有兩家电力供应公司,即中华电力有限公司和香港电灯有限公司。兩家电力公司虽运作独立,但两者的输电网络已互相连接,遇紧急事故时可互相支援。两电均为纵向结合公司,并拥有雄厚的资金。

电力供应公司

中华电力有限公司(中电)成立于1901年,为九龙及新界,包括大屿山、长洲及大部分離岛供应电力。中电供电可靠程度高于99.999%。

中电致力在香港可再生能源的发展中担当主导角色,除了接驳政府的大型转废为能项目及其他规模较小的项目至中电电网外,亦同时探索发展其他大型可再生能源项目的机会。

在香港转型至智慧城市的过程中,中电会继续为香港提供更环保、更智能化及高度可靠的电力系统。为此,中电会担当桥梁角色,如加快数据中心的供电服务。

若考虑在香港中电供电范围内设立数据中心,可按这里了解更多有关中电的供电系统、网络的可靠性、可提供电力的地区和中电为数据中心的设置而提供的协助。


香港电灯有限公司(港灯),负责供应电力予香港岛及南丫岛。自1997年,港灯的供电可靠程度一直保持超过99.999%。

港灯已大幅提升绿色发电的比例,亦会继续与政府紧密合作,以达致减少碳强度的目标及改变发电燃料组合。

为应对气候变化,港灯积极减低温室气体排放,而港灯亦以适应气候变化为重点,务求加强香港在这方面的抵御能力。

若考虑在港灯供电范围内设立数据中心,请按这里以了解更多有关港灯供电网络,供电可靠性和质量的资料。

极其稳定的电力供应

香港的电力供应极为可靠稳定。兩家电力公司的输电网络互相连接,有足够的容量应付因其中一方遇上意外供电故障而引起用户有可能缺电的紧急情况。

为进一步加强供应香港的燃料渠道,中电及港灯正在携手合作,在香港水域兴建海上液化天然气接收站,此举可令天然气供应来源多样化。

香港的电力供应能符合国际正常运行时间协会《数据中心基础设施级别标准》(Uptime Institute Data Centre Site Infrastructure Tier Standard),以及美国通信工业协会《数据中心通信基础设施标准》(TIA-942) (TIA Telecommunications Infrastructure Standard for Data Centres (TIA-942)) 的要求。从两家不同电力公司或从同一电力公司的不同变电站获得电源供应,都可以满足双电源要求。