Data Centre Development in Hong Kong
Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
Data Centre Development in Hong Kong
  
Energy Efficiency for Data Centres
Energy Efficiency for Data Centres

Data Centre Efficiency

Demands for data centre services in particular those of high performance and high availability for mission critical applications have been continuously increasing in recent years. There has also been increasing adoption of high-density servers with high power consumption and heat generation , which in turn require more power for cooling. These together with the power required by other supporting facilities for resilience purposes (e.g. redundant UPS and power distribution) entail the further demand for power. Power consumption is therefore a major operating expense of data centres today, but from the macro perspective data centres help lower the overall power consumption of information and communication technology (ICT) of the whole community1.

Therefore, data centre operators are all striving to enhance energy efficiency, so as to reduce their power consumption, their operating expense and also their environmental impacts. Enhancing energy efficiency on the demand side also helps alleviate the frequent constraints on the supply side of power, cooling as well as space, thus enabling them to sustain their business competitiveness and growth in the long term.

  1. Contemporary large-scale data centres leverage on advanced technologies like virtualization and cloud computing, energy-efficient infrastructure, management best-practices, and economy of scale in operation. These data centres consolidate and replace many small traditional computing facilities, and help promote the energy efficiency of ICT in the community as a whole. Through the operation of data centres, the applications of ICT also contribute significantly to environmental sustainability in such areas as fleets management, supply chain management, power/building management, telecommuting /video conferencing for travel-reduction and intelligent transport system.

Green Data Centre

Industry and Government Efforts

Recognising the high power consumption of ICT and data centres, and the associated environmental concerns, industry bodies, technology vendors and service providers, architects and engineers, policy makers and governments around the world are actively working to address the issues. They have been collaborating actively to research into, develop and promote best practices and technologies for energy-efficient data centres.

Hong Kong Government Programmes

The Hong Kong Government is committed to increasing and sustaining energy conservation. An Energy Efficiency Office was set up in the Electrical and Mechanical Services Department (EMSD) to spearhead and coordinate Government’s efforts to promote energy efficiency and conservation. Two measures under EMSD are relevant to data centres in enhancing energy efficiency, namely, the implementation of Building Energy Efficiency Ordinance (BEEO) (Cap. 610) and the Fresh Water Cooling Towers Scheme (FWCT Scheme).

To foster a quality and sustainable built environment, the Buildings Department (BD) promulgated a set of practice notes that stipulate the Sustainable Building Design (SBD) guidelines, gross floor area (GFA) concessions and energy efficiency of buildings. For more details, please refer to the practice notes in BD's website, enquire to enquiry@bd.gov.hk or consult the authorised persons appointed for the proposed data centres.

The Office of the Government Chief Information Officer (OGCIO) is also committed to green computing initiatives including green data centre operations. It has promulgated a set of Green Data Centres Practice Guide, which addresses energy efficient data centre design, procurement, operations and disposal. Please refer to a sample of the energy saving plan for adopting the Green Data Centres Practice Guide.


BEEO
Green Data Centre

International Best Practices

The following information provides pointers to some prominent organisations and their useful resources on data centre energy efficiency measures. It is meant for general reference and is by no means exhaustive or representing OGCIO's endorsement. More in-depth studies are required in considering adoption of any measures, and professional advice may be sought as appropriate.

International Best Practices

政府资讯科技总监办公室
Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
在香港发展数据中心
  
数据中心的能源效益
数据中心的能源效益

数据中心的效益

近年,数据中心服务需求日增,对可高效操作关键应用系统的数据中心的需求尤其殷切。此外,高密度伺服器亦愈趋普及,由于这类伺服器耗电量高,并产生大量热力,故需要更多电力供冷却之用。再加上其他系统恢复支援设施(如后备不间断电源 (UPS) 及配电装置)亦需要用电,导致电力需求进一步扩大。因此,电力耗用是数据中心现时的主要营运开支,但从宏观角度看,数据中心能有助降低整个社会在资讯及通讯科技上的总耗电量1

有见及此,数据中心营办商一直致力提高能源效益,以减低耗电量、营运开支和对环境造成的影响。提升能源效益亦有助减少对电力、冷却系统及空间等方面的需求,从而纾缓经常遇到的供应限制情况,长远可维持数据中心营办商的竞争力和促进其业务发展。

  1. 现今的大型数据中心均能善用虚拟化和云端运算等先进科技、具能源效益的基础设施、良好的管理作业模式,以及能发挥规模经济效益的营运模式。这些数据中心整合及取代了很多规模细小的传统电脑设施,有助促进整体社会在资讯及通讯科技应用上符合能源效益。透过数据中心的运作,资讯及通讯科技的应用,例如车/船队管理、供应链管理、电力/楼宇管理、减少商务旅程的远程办公/视像会议、智能运输系统等,亦大大有助于环境的可持续发展。
Green Data Centre

业界和政府所作的努力

有见资讯及通讯科技设施和数据中心耗电量大,且对环境造成影响,世界各地的业界机构、科技及服务供应商、建筑师和工程师、决策者和政府正为此积极寻求解决方法。他们一直通力合作,致力研究、开发和推广采用良好作业模式及技术,令数据中心符合能源效益。

香港政府推行的计划

香港政府致力加强及持续推动节约能源,并在机电工程署辖下成立能源效益事务处,牵头提倡能源效益及节约能源,并负责协调各政府部门进行相关的工作。机电工程署有两项措施,即实施《建筑物能源效益条例》(第610章)及推出「淡水冷却塔计划」,有助提升数据中心的能源效益。

为推动优质及可持续建筑环境,屋宇署发布了一系列作业备考,订明《可持续建筑设计指引》、总楼面面积宽免及楼宇能源效益。详情可参阅屋宇署网站所载的相关作业备考,亦可向屋宇署 (enquiry@bd.gov.hk) 或为拟建数据中心所委聘的认可人士查询。

政府资讯科技总监办公室(下称资科办)亦致力推行绿色运算措施,包括绿色数据中心运作。针对能源效益,资科办已推出「绿色数据中心作业模式」,内容涵盖数据中心设计、采购、运作及弃置四个范畴,请参考采用了「绿色数据中心作业模式」的「节能计划样本」。


BEEO
Green Data Centre

国际良好作业模式

下文载有连结,以提供一些主要机构及其有关数据中心能源效益措施的有用资源。有关资料只供一般参考,并非详尽无遗,亦不代表资科办认可有关措施。在考虑采用任何措施前,请作深入研究,并在适当时征询专业意见。

International Best Practices